The 2021 Orfalea College of Business Faculty and Staff Awards

Katya Vasilaky with students

The Orfalea College of Business Faculty and Staff awards are given at the end of each academic year in several categories. The Distinguished Faculty of the Year and Outstanding Faculty awards are determined by student feedback via a survey. The Emeritus Faculty Award is determined through nominations by each department’s area, with the dean’s team providing deliberations and a final decision. The Staff Member of the Year Award is based on a college-wide survey. 

A warm congratulations to all the professors within the Orfalea College of Business who are making an impact. Please find the results below.

Distinguished Faculty of the Year Award

Pratish Patel, Associate Professor of Finance

Emeritus Faculty Award

Katya Vasilaky, Assistant Professor of Economics

Outstanding Undergraduate Faculty Awards

Accounting: Tad Miller

Economics: Jackie Doremus

Finance and Real Estate: Pratish Patel

Industrial Technology: Ahmed Deif

Packaging: Joongmin Shin and Koushik Saha

Entrepreneurship: Jose Huitron

Management: Hong Hoang

Information Systems: Jim Burleson and Leida Chen

Marketing: John Marinovich

Outstanding Graduate Faculty Awards

Masters of Business Administration: Bruce Greenbaum

Masters of Business Analytics: Sanjiv Jaggia

Masters of Quantitative Economics: Carlos Flores

Masters of Accounting: SiSi Pouraghabagher

Masters of Taxation: David Chamberlain

Masters of Packaging Value Chain: Adam Armstrong

Outstanding Staff Award

The Orfalea College of Business Information Technology Team: Joe Emenaker, Director of Computing Resources and Labs; Teresa Cameron, Instructional Designer; Frank Gonzales, Academic Technology and Media Communications Supervisor