Cal Poly Orfalea College of Business Honors Outstanding Students and Faculty

Cal Poly’s Orfalea College of Business honored its 2015-16 outstanding students and faculty at the college’s annual Senior Awards Ceremony on May 13.

Accounting senior Nicole Mogg, from Moorpark, Calif., received the Academic Excellence and Delta Sigma Pi Award for maintaining a 3.94 GPA, the highest of any graduating senior in the college. Mogg was also named the Accounting Area’s Outstanding Graduating Senior. She was among eight Orfalea College of Business seniors who received scholastic achievement awards for holding a GPA above 3.85. While at Cal Poly, Mogg studied abroad in London, earned the Moss Adams Accounting Student Scholarship, tutored accounting classmates, served on Cal Poly’s Inter Housing Council, and was a member of the Cal Poly Accounting Club. She has been accepted into the University of Michigan’s M.S. Accounting program and plans to work at Grant Thornton.

The Women in Business club received the college’s Club of the Year Award. The organization was founded in 2015 by business administration students Hannah Poplack, Shelby Sly, Megan Johnson, Kayla Lake, Jessie Goodrum and Courtney Jacobson. With the vision of becoming one of the nation’s first organizations dedicated to the empowerment of female leaders across campus, the club quickly grew to more than 200 members from a variety of majors. Women in Business also launched the Women’s Business Leadership Academy, a certificate program that includes professionalism workshops, executive roundtables, mentorship opportunities from leading alumni, and industry tours. The club also hosted nearly 500 students at its first Defining Her Future Conference, featuring keynote speaker Blake Irving CEO of GoDaddy.

Lecturers Sharon Dobson and Sisi Pouraghabagher received Distinguished Teacher of the Year awards, an honor determined by student votes. Dobson has taught core courses in the Orfalea College of Business’ Accounting, Finance and Marketing areas since 2003. She is known for her efforts to support students success in ways that go beyond academics. Dobson has personally helped many students connect to internship and job opportunities and advised student clubs and campus organizations on financial stability.

Pouraghabagher, an alumna of the Orfalea College of Business, teaches accounting courses. She joined the college as a faculty member in 2015 after more than 20 of professional experience, including working as a CPA at Deloitte and leading global, publicly-traded financial service organizations in Southern California. In the classroom, Pouraghabagher’s students know her as a teacher who pushes students to their highest potential while weaving in real business application into her curriculum. She also is an active mentor in the Executive Partner Program at Cal Poly, and advises students on career readiness and professional success.

Economics Professor Jason Lepore won the Emeritus Faculty of the Year Award after being nominated by his colleagues. He is an advocate for career readiness among his students, encouraging internships for underclassmen and framing economic concepts into real-world scenarios. Lepore has also helped Cal Poly Athletics attract new student athletes by sharing a professor’s perspective with recruits and their families. He also takes extra time to mentor student athletes from all majors. Lepore often travels with the Economics Society to conferences and speaking engagements to enrich the student experience.

For a complete list of Orfalea College of Business award winners, visit

Orfalea College of Business Honors Top Students and Faculty

Awards plaquesThe Orfalea College of Business hosted its Senior Awards Ceremony May 13, handing out awards for student, faculty and club excellence. Join us in celebrating this year’s winners:

Club Member of the Year
These students are selected by their club’s leadership for outstanding engagement and service.

Cal Poly Investment Banking Society — Morgan Kavanagh

Financial Management Association — Matthew Yardley

Hispanic Business Student Association — Ilianna Salas

Alpha Kappa Psi — Daniel Papp

Cal Poly Accounting Club — Maddie Newton

Women in Business — Kayla Lake and Jessie Goodrum

Outstanding Graduating Senior Awards
Selected by each concentration’s faculty, these students exemplify academic excellence, career readiness and service to their community.

Accounting — Nicole Mogg

Economics — Kevin Griest

Entrepreneurship — Kaitlyn Henry

Finance — Gregory R. Ledford

Industrial Technology & Packaging — Patrick Salibi

Information Systems— Courtney Jacobson

Management & Human Resources — Megan Sullivan

Consumer Packaging Solutions — Andrew Babb

Marketing — Jenna Hoffman

Scholastic Achievement Awards
Presented to all Orfalea College of Business seniors graduating with a 3.85 cumulative GPA and above.

Nicole Mogg

Yuriy Kalbov

Courtney Jacobson

Julian Perez

Eric Millan

Jenna Hoffman

Maeve Strausser

Gregory Ledford

Academic Excellence & Delta Sigma Pi Award
Presented to the Orfalea College of Business graduating senior with the highest cumulative GPA.

Nicole Mogg (Accounting)

College and University Awards

Contributions to the Objectives and Public Image of the College — Karissa Ramage

Contributions to the Objectives and Public Image of the University — Jordan Willis

Service to the Off-Campus Community — Vishal Venkitachalam

Distinguished Service Award — Jon Peck

Dean’s Award — Courtney Jacobson

Club Awards

Leaders in Innovation — Cal Poly Accounting Club

Leaders in Campus Involvement — Financial Management Association

Leaders in Community Outreach — Alpha Kappa Psi

Leaders in Professional Development — American Marketing Association

Club of the Year — Women in Business

Faculty Awards

Outstanding Faculty in Accounting — Trisha Anderson

Outstanding Faculty in Economics — William Lindsay

Outstanding Faculty in Finance — Larry Gorman

Outstanding Faculty in Industrial Technology & Packaging — Eric Olsen

Outstanding Faculty in Management & Human Resources — Jean-Francois Coget

Outstanding Faculty in Information Systems — Barry Floyd

Outstanding Faculty in Marketing — Brennan Davis

Distinguished Teacher of the Year Award — Sharon Dobson and Sisi Pouraghabagher

Emeritus Faculty of the Year Award — Jason Lepore