Cal Poly Announces New CIE Faculty Fellows

The Cal Poly Center for Innovation & Entrepreneurship (CIE) has announced the 2016-17 class of CIE Faculty Fellows

•  David Askay, College of Liberal Arts

•  Graham Doig, College of Engineering

•  Lynne Slivovsky, College of Engineering

•  Taryn Stanko, Orfalea College of Business

This year’s fellows were selected from a field of 13 outstanding applicants.

Dr. Askay will create an OpenIDEO chapter on campus, with the goal of fostering interdisciplinary collaboration and innovation focused on societal and environmental challenges. Dr. Doig’s project drives innovation in the rapidly evolving transportation industry and opens up opportunities for the formation of startups. Dr. Slivovsky’s project centers on human-centered innovation and design. Dr. Stanko will focus on curricular and co-curricular innovation to bring negotiation skills to Cal Poly startups, which will enhance their chances for survival and success.

CIE Faculty Fellows become part of an interdisciplinary community that is committed to inspiring the next generation of entrepreneurs. They raise awareness of CIE programs and provide guidance to students and faculty with an interest in innovation and entrepreneurship.

The 2016-17 class of CIE Faculty Fellows joins fellows named in previous years: Enrica Costello, Art & Design; Bob Crockett, Biomedical Engineering; Dale Dolan, Electrical Engineering; Lorraine Donegan, Graphic Communication; Charmaine Farber, Graphic Communication; Mary Glick, Journalism; Brian Granger, Physics; David Janzen, Computer Science; Lynn Metcalf, Marketing; Clare Olsen, Architecture; and Christiane Schroeter, Agribusiness.