Cal Poly

Orfalea College of Business

Honored Alumni

The Honored Alumni Award is the highest honor bestowed upon Cal Poly alumni by the university’s Alumni Association. The award was established more than 40 years ago to provide recognition for outstanding graduates and former students of Cal Poly.

2018 Honoree Mike Selfridge

Mike Selfridge (Economics ’89) has been named the 2018 Orfalea College of Business Honored Alumnus. As Chief Banking Officer for First Republic Bank, and as a member of the bank’s executive management team, Selfridge is responsible for the company’s private banking, business banking, and cyber & information security activities.  Previously, Mike served as First Republic’s Chief Operating Officer and as its first Chief Risk Officer.

Selfridge began his career working for HSBC and Wells Fargo before moving into an 18-year span at Silicon Valley Bank, where he held a number of executive management positions, including head of U.S. Regional Banking. He has long been involved in governmental and non-profit sectors as well, serving on the advisory board for the Export-Import Bank of the U.S., and spent nearly two decades on boards for various non-profit organizations. Currently, he serves on the board of directors for Catholic Charities in San Francisco, Marin and San Mateo counties. Along with his Cal Poly degree, Selfridge holds an M.B.A. from University of San Francisco and is a graduate of the Harvard Business School Advanced Management Program.

Orfalea College of Business initiatives have remained a priority for Selfridge, who has consistently supported the Center for Innovation and Entrepreneurship, hosted students for industry tours, spoke on campus as an Executive in Residence, and more.


Past Honored Alumni

Year Honored Full Name Graduation Year
2017 Lisa Hufford 1993
2016 Scott Cooper 1991
2015 Russ Nash 1982
2014 Mike Bickel 2002
2013 Rik Floyd 1979
2012 Joanne M. Smith 1982
2011 Patrick DeLong 1989
2010 George Famalett 1986
2009 Darran Littlefield 1985
2008 B. Quentin Lilly 1983
2007 Lori DeMatteis 1985
2006 William Chillingworth 1978
2005 Stephen Giusto 1985
2004 Thomas deRegt 1980
2003 David Kinney 1985
2002 Michael J. Byrd 1982
2001 Michael W. Deisenroth 1976
2000 H. Lee Dempsey 1973
1999 Don Fischbach 1969
1998 Peter Oser 1979
1997 Lori Holland 1981
1996 Steve Kitson 1974
1995 Tom G. Stanford 1967
1994 Corliss J. (CJ) Nelson 1967
1993 Mike Mantle 1979
1992 John W. Schmidt 1967
1991 Philip J. Oberti 1966
1990 Jay R. Mitchell 1964
1989 Marc L. Loupe 1976
1988 Thomas M. Racciatti 1971
1987 Lee A. Doble, Jr. 1968
1986 Timothy Boyle 1968
1984 William C. Siefkin 1968
1983 Owen Servatius (deceased) 1959
1982 Roger C. Rohrs 1969
1981 Rush N. Hill, II 1969
1980 Richard Andrews 1956
1979 H. D. Miller 1962
1978 Clifton C. Maclin Jr. 1973
1977 Norman R. Buller 1967
1976 Lamar Smith (deceased)
1975 R. James Considine Jr. 1968
1974 Warren Church 1962
1973 Bobby J. Gaston 1967
1972 Frederick T. HonorZ 1963
1972 Jack C. Anderson
1971 Marlene D. Van Wagner
1971 Mitchell H. States 1967

Recent News

More news


Our Stories

Cal Poly Business Magazine

See More


sample image snippet

Support Learn by Doing